Working with Environments
In any development workflow, you will likely have multiple environments. In Joystick, we support multiple environments for each Product in order to mirror your setup.
Create a New Environment
You can create as many environments as you like, simply click "Create Environment" on the top right. You will be prompted for some details, and voila!
- You can name and use Environments however you like to fit your workflow. It is typically a good idea to have your Production environment separate from other environments.
- An API Key can only access the content from the environment it was created for.
Syncing Content Between Environments
Joystick makes synchronizing configuration content between multiple environments easy with our "Sync Environments" tool.
- When you synchronize content, the latest (active) version of each piece of content in an environment will be 'pushed' over to the target environment, not the entire version history.
- During the push a new version is created 'on-top' in the target and activated. The previous version history of content in the target is preserved.
- Contents will be pushed with the folder structure intact.
- Nothing is changed in the source environment.
Protecting an Environment
You can protect an environment and prevent content from being synced without going through a Push Request.
When you protect an environment, team members with edit permissions can still directly access and update content in the environment. You can set individual team member permissions for different environments in order to restrict editing.
Environment Permissions and User Roles
You can assign individual team members Editor or Viewer roles to an environment. Only Organization Owners and Editors can change enviroment role assignments.
You may want to export all of the content you have in a particular Joystick environment. In Environment Settings you find the Export block. The export will be a zip file with the folder structure and content of the environment you exported from.
Archiving an Environment
You may want to archive an environment that is no longer required. You can access archiving in Environment Settings
What happens when an environment is archived?
- All of the API Keys for the environment are immediately deactivated. Please make sure API access to the content in the environment no longer required.
- No configs are removed. You may ask a Joystick admin to restore the environment at a later time.